easyJet Hand Luggage: Sizes, Weight Limits and Fees, Verified (July 2026)
Most easyJet guides copy each other, and the same figure keeps falling out of the copy: the free small cabin bag has a weight limit. 15 kg. easyJet publishes that on its own baggage page. Plenty of guides still say "no limit".
This page is built as a reference, not an opinion piece. The table first, with every value sourced, then the four places where easyJet's rules work differently from how they sound.
easyJet hand luggage: the numbers that decide it at the gate
Every dimension below counts handles and wheels included, which is easyJet's own wording. That is not a footnote, it is the single most common reason people get a gate bill.
| Item | Max size incl. handles and wheels | Max weight | Where it goes | Included in fare | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Small cabin bag | 45 x 36 x 20 cm | 15 kg | under the seat in front | every fare | £0 |
| Large cabin bag | 56 x 45 x 25 cm | no published weight limit | overhead locker | Inclusive Plus fare, easyJet Plus | paid add-on, £30 average in testing |
| Extra handbag or laptop bag | not permitted | not stated | no space allocated | no fare | cannot be bought |
| Oversized or unbooked bag at the gate | not stated | not stated | aircraft hold | no fare | £48 |
Sources: sizes, weights and fare inclusions are stated on the easyJet cabin bag page and the easyJet baggage overview. The £30 is the average price Which? recorded across 520 easyJet flights, documented by Euronews. The £48 gate fee is the amount easyJet charges per bag taken at the gate, reported by GB News. Verified July 2026. Airline fees move, so check easyJet's page before you book.
The 15 kg rule almost every guide copies wrong
easyJet states "maximum weight 15kg" for the free small bag. Not "as much as you can carry". An actual number.
In practice hardly anyone weighs a 45 x 36 x 20 cm backpack, and gate checks target size rather than mass. But the rule is published and it applies. Fill a bag that size with camera lenses or hardbacks and 15 kg arrives faster than you would expect.
The figure that trips more people up is the 20 cm depth. Ordinary daypacks run 25 to 30 cm deep. Those fail the frame even half empty.
Booked Up Front? The large bag still is not included
This is where people quietly lose money.
easyJet's cabin bag page lists exactly two routes to carrying the large 56 x 45 x 25 cm bag without paying extra: the Inclusive Plus fare, and easyJet Plus membership (and for Plus members only subject to space if it was not pre-booked). Everything else is a paid add-on.
What is not on that list: Up Front, Extra Legroom, Speedy Boarding. So you can buy an expensive row-1 seat and still arrive at the gate with no claim to the large bag. If you are working from something a friend told you a few years ago, that memory is out of date.
Worth doing the arithmetic: price the Inclusive Plus fare against seat selection plus a bag add-on. It is often close, and on the fare the bag is confirmed rather than "subject to space".
"From £5.99" was banned in January 2026
easyJet advertised the large cabin bag from £5.99 for years. Which? checked 520 easyJet flights and found that price not once. Cheapest actual figure: £23.49. Average: £30.
On 28 January 2026 the UK Advertising Standards Authority upheld Which?'s complaint and told easyJet to drop the claim "Large cabin bag From £5.99". The ASA ruling requires that future "from" prices be genuinely available "across a significant proportion of flights". easyJet could not produce data showing £5.99 was.
For planning purposes: budget £25 to £35 online, and add the bag when you book the flight rather than later. Adding it afterwards usually costs more than buying it in the first transaction.
One detail that catches people out: you cannot buy the large cabin bag at the airport at all any more. At the gate the only path is the £48 charge and the hold.
Why gate staff look so closely: £1.20 per bag
Here is the gap between "the rules are strict" and "enforcement is paid for".
Internal emails from ground handler Swissport, published by GB News, describe a "gate bag revenue incentive" scheme paying staff £1.20 for every bag taken at the gate, roughly £1 after tax. The documents name Birmingham, Glasgow, Newcastle, Jersey, Belfast and Liverpool among the airports involved, and the scheme has run since November 2023. The same report says DHL Supply Chain, the handler at Gatwick, Bristol and Manchester, pays something similar.
Ground handlers there earn around £12 an hour. Ten flagged bags is an hour's pay.
That explains what travellers describe in TripAdvisor threads: bags less than a centimetre over the limit still triggering the full fee. In a system built like this, leniency is not an oversight that slipped. It has been engineered out.
It also explains the variance. Some gates check every bag, others wave people through. That depends less on the airline than on whoever is standing at the frame that morning.
The sizing frame: what actually gets measured
There is a metal frame at the gate. Your bag has to go all the way in, without pushing.
What gets measured is the outer edge, with everything attached. A case labelled "55 cm" easily reaches 58 cm with the handle extended. Side pockets, bottle holders, an umbrella strapped on: all of it counts.
So measure it at home. Tape measure to the outer edge, handle retracted, wheels included. Half a minute, and it answers the question that otherwise costs £48 at the gate.
For contrast on how differently airlines treat this: Lufthansa's hand luggage rules allow 55 x 40 x 23 cm plus a separate laptop bag (Lufthansa carry-on baggage), and Condor allows 55 x 40 x 23 cm plus a handbag. On easyJet the second item is not included on any fare.
Those Condor dimensions have applied since 1 May 2026, and the small bag has been 40 x 30 x 15 cm since then too (Condor carry-on baggage).
What actually fits 45 x 36 x 20 cm
The free allowance is smaller than the backpack you probably already own. Soft bags have a real edge here, because they give when the frame is tight. Hard shells do not.
For occasional weekends the Easyjet Handgepäck 45x36x20 Rucksack Reiserucksack does the job at around 24 euros. Nothing fancy, but the dimensions are right and it squashes.
If you fly more often and carry a laptop, the tomtoc 40L Reiserucksack, TSA Freundlich Groß Handgepäck Rucksack Travel Backpack is the better buy. 40 litres, laptop compartment for 15.6 to 17 inch machines, TSA-friendly, roughly 73 euros. The oversized laptop sleeve means the machine stays in the bag at security.
More models compared in our hand luggage backpack test and the hand luggage suitcase test 2026.
Not available in your region — closest match
View at Amazon (as of Aug 14)Affiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
Not available in your region — closest match
View at Amazon (as of Aug 14)Affiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
Booking the large bag: use all of 56 x 45 x 25 cm
56 x 45 x 25 cm is more generous than the common European 55 x 40 x 23 cm standard. A case built to Lufthansa spec leaves volume on the table at easyJet.
The BEIBYE Leichter Stoffkoffer Trolley Handgepäck 54cm is a light fabric trolley under 40 euros that fits the allowance and weighs little empty. There is no published weight limit for the large cabin bag, so a lighter case simply means more room for what goes inside.
For durability there is the LEVEL8 Koffer Trolley Handgepäck Hartschalenkoffer mit TSA, hard shell with a TSA lock at around 112 euros. And frequent flyers tend to end up on the polycarbonate LEVEL8 Rollenkoffer aus Polycarbonat Handgepäck 54cm at roughly 153 euros.
| Model | Build | Price (July 2026) | Fits | Sensible for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Budget backpack | soft | approx. €24 | 45 x 36 x 20 cm | two nights, flying free |
| Laptop backpack | soft | approx. €73 | 45 x 36 x 20 cm | commuters with a 17-inch machine |
| Fabric trolley | soft | approx. €36 | 56 x 45 x 25 cm | saving weight on the biggest allowance |
| Hard shell standard | hard | approx. €112 | 56 x 45 x 25 cm | frequent flights |
| Hard shell premium | hard | approx. €153 | 56 x 45 x 25 cm | very frequent flyers |
Prices are Amazon snapshots and they drift. The size column is the part that holds.
Not available in your region — closest match
Amazon Basics Hard Shell Suitcase, black
View at Amazon (as of Aug 14)Affiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
Not available in your region — closest match
Amazon Basics Hard Shell Suitcase, black
View at Amazon (as of Aug 14)Affiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
Not available in your region — closest match
Amazon Basics Hard Shell Suitcase, black
View at Amazon (as of Aug 14)Affiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
What Brussels wants to change about this rule
The European Parliament has adopted its position on the air passenger rights revision. It wants a free personal item (handbag, backpack or laptop) plus a small cabin bag of up to 100 cm total across length, width and height, weighing up to 7 kg. That is set out in the European Parliament's own release.
Nothing is settled. Parliament and the member states are still negotiating, and baggage is one of the sticking points. If it lands, easyJet's current one-item rule is directly affected. For a flight next month, plan around the table above regardless.
When it becomes clear at the gate that it will not fit
The sequence is always the same:
- The bag goes into the frame and does not fit.
- £48 becomes due.
- The bag goes into the hold and you collect it from the belt.
Arguing does not work, and "it was fine last month" definitely does not. What does work: pull things out and wear them, or stuff them into jacket pockets, until the bag drops into the frame. Looks daft, costs nothing.
The same trick works pre-emptively. Heavy jacket, shoes and jumper on your body on the way to the airport, which is also what Skyscanner recommends. Rolling instead of folding buys 20 to 30 percent, packing cubes a bit more on top. More of that in our guide to packing hand luggage properly.
Liquids follow the normal EU rules on easyJet: containers up to 100 ml, all of them in one transparent bag, one bag per person. Nothing airline-specific there, it applies across Europe.
Honestly, the free bag is plenty for a weekend as long as the 20 cm depth checks out. Past about five nights it gets uncomfortable. And at that point the question stops being "will it fit" and becomes whether £30 for the add-on or a hold bag works out cheaper.
All values verified July 2026.
All products from this post
The ones we named above are marked; the rest are alternatives in the same category.
Not available in your region — closest match
Amazon Basics Hard Shell Suitcase, black
View at Amazon (as of Aug 14)
Not available in your region — closest match
Amazon Basics Hard Shell Suitcase, black
View at Amazon (as of Aug 14)
Not available in your region — closest match
Amazon Basics Hard Shell Suitcase, black
View at Amazon (as of Aug 14)Affiliate notice: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are subject to change.
Frequently Asked Questions
How big can easyJet hand luggage be in 2026?
The free small cabin bag can be up to 45 x 36 x 20 cm including handles and wheels, and up to 15 kg per easyJet. The paid large cabin bag can be 56 x 45 x 25 cm, with no published weight limit.
Does the free easyJet bag really have a weight limit?
Yes — for the free small bag. easyJet publishes 15 kg for the small under-seat bag (45 x 36 x 20 cm). For the large cabin bag (56 x 45 x 25 cm) there is no published weight limit, so a guide describing that bag is not wrong — it is describing the other bag. (easyJet cabin bags, as of 2026-07)
Is the large cabin bag included with Up Front or Extra Legroom?
No. easyJet's cabin bag page names only the Inclusive Plus fare and easyJet Plus membership. Premium seats such as Up Front and Extra Legroom are not on that list, so the large bag has to be bought separately.
What does the easyJet large cabin bag actually cost?
Which? never found the advertised £5.99 across 520 flights it checked. The cheapest real figure was £23.49 and the average was £30. The UK's ASA banned the "from £5.99" claim on 28 January 2026.
What does an oversized bag cost at the gate?
£48, and the bag travels in the hold. You cannot buy the large cabin bag at the airport, so the gate fee is the only option left.
Can I bring a backpack and a handbag on easyJet?
No. One piece of luggage is included, full stop. A separate handbag or laptop bag counts as a second item and is not included on any easyJet fare. Lufthansa and Condor handle this differently.
Do handles and wheels count towards the size?
Yes, explicitly. easyJet's wording is "including any handles and wheels". A case labelled 55 cm can reach 58 cm with the handle out and fail. Measure the outer edge with the handle retracted.
Sources
- easyJet cabin bag page easyjet.com
- easyJet baggage overview easyjet.com
- Euronews euronews.com
- GB News gbnews.com
- ASA ruling asa.org.uk
- TripAdvisor threads tripadvisor.com
- Lufthansa carry-on baggage lufthansa.com
- Condor carry-on baggage condor.com
- European Parliament's own release europarl.europa.eu
- Skyscanner skyscanner.net